top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay

V&S final: If a girl wants to be a legend

The final video is a trailer for the series of TED talks about modern time princesses. We reinterpreted the stories of Mulan and Ariel and added a link to other women nowadays. Thus, it is also sending a message that if you want to become an artist, an athlete or even a legend, you can do it! In this sense, it is also aimed at contribution to a social change through social media.


My reflection on working Adobe Premiere:

The process of working on the video was difficult, as Adobe Premiere isn’t really user-friendly. It could definitely be useful in long-term projects with different collaborators and many files. But I could spent less time doing this video if I used a different application. My project partner Lauren tried to do a split video with all the effects and a beautiful text, but after an hour the result wasn’t as appealing as I thought it would be. I ended up doing the blocks with text in the iMovie instead and imported them into the Premiere. We used the advice from out teacher Gabriel and added some context by using TED talk intro, so it would look like the trailer for the series of talks. I found an easy solution by downloading the inro from the YouTube and pasting it into Premiere. Overall, if you just want to make a video with basic cuts Premiere is super useful, but otherwise it eats a lot of time.


I liked the final video, even though I know it has some imperfections. Overall, I spent at least 16 hours editing my part and the whole video. I showed it to some of my friends and their reaction was really positive. And I don’t think it was because we’re friends, as we like giving constructive criticism to each other. One of them said “Do you write songs for a band? Why didn’t you tell me? And your friend served in the army? Wow!”. So the video still was quite realistic. And as my friend noted it’s not a bad thing. If it wasn’t realistic it wouldn’t be a video someone could relate to and would want to watch more!


My reflection of collaboration:

I worked with Lauren and in short it was amazing! Her dog Marcy was supporting us or at least trying to. However, collaboration in Premiere using the Team Projects function failed and we still don’t understand why. For some reason we couldn’t see the edits anyone of us made. Thus, we had to edit our parts together and then meet in person and combine them. But I’m glad that it turned out this way, as I had an opportunity to spend more time with Lauren and get to know her. During our work we had some disagreements, but they were easily solved through discussions. I would be happy to work with Lauren again!




Credits:

TED talk organisation intro https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UMMxvmGlkyM

Background music Dusty Hills by Ketsa https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Ketsa

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page