top of page
  • Writer's pictureKay

â„–1 p5LiveMedia and p5.js

My first idea was to create a sketch that would allow one to hide the face by covering it up from another person. I was using FaceMesh and tried to send data keypoints of the face through p5LiveMedia. Unfortunately, that idea didn't work out because my computer would freeze and crash and I would get many errors. So I assumed there're too many things going on simultaneously that p5.js couldn't handle.


I had to come up with another idea. Since I still wanted to use FaceMesh, my second idea was to make a sketch that is useful for people who are anxious when they're in front of the camera and seeing themselves make them freeze. However, sometimes there are social situations during which turning off the camera may create barriers for communication. For instance, when one has a strong accent or speech impairment, so not seeing one's mouth moving may create barrier for understanding each other.


So I started with incorporating FaceMesh into the sketch and checking how it works with p5lm. Then I decided to add some design and explanation elements to the sketch. And at the end I added some customization options, such as using the start, butterflies or circles to cover up the face, as well as sliders for size and color customization. Summing up, I think this is the experience for anyone who wants to connect with another person, but for any reason may be uncomfortable with seeing their own face on the screen.


Left to right: errors in the first idea sketch, incorporating FaceMesh, and Final result photo

Video of me interacting changing customization options



Reading Response:

Let me start with mentioning that sometimes I'm texting, calling, or video calling a person who is in the same flat as me. So to the notion "When you have the choice between face-to-face and an imitation, no matter how good, it is natural to choose the real thing.", my only answer is "Well it depends on many factors". Sometimes it doesn't even matter whether an alternative is as rich as real-life communication. It's just personal choice that can be based on the current activity, your relationship with a person, time, cultural background, language, one's character, flat size etc. And I know that the article was written long ago and they maybe didn't think that perfect rich alternative for in-person communication can completely substitute the in-person communication. I actually think this is a problem for some people. I know that some don't leave the house, especially in times of pandemic and only communicate through online communication. Is it good or bad? I really don't know. But I believe, that current ways of alternative communication has been quite successful in substituting the real-life one.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page